She Shares Truth: commissioned moments…

Hi, and welcome to my SheSharesTruth blog for this week – for those of you who don’t know, http://www.shereadstruth.com is an amazing community of women reading God’s word daily, and from time to time, the community share their own writing as well.

For the past week and a half, we’ve been looking at The Risen Christ – Jesus’ life immediately after the resurrection – and His command to His followers:

Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. (Matthew 28:19)

Sounds simple, right? Tell people. Tell people about this absolutely amazing, beautiful, life-giving Jesus, about who He is, what He did, and what that means for them, and then…what? Wait for their response. Hmm. What if I don’t like their response? What if their response is to laugh at me, ridicule me, get angry with me, call me stupid, idiotic? Worse – what if they argue cleverly to the point that I doubt, I wonder, I can’t answer those questions?!

Actually, I think I’ll pass thanks. They’ll be OK, right?

Except, they might not be. Me speaking up, little old scaredy-cat me, may be the only interaction they have with someone who knows Jesus and can tell them about Him. Eek.

And that’s where I need to remember the verses either side of His command:

The Great Commission (Matthew 28:16-20)

16 Then the eleven disciples left for Galilee, going to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him—but some of them doubted!

18 Jesus came and told his disciples, “I have been given all authority in heaven and on earth. 19 Therefore, go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. 20 Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Firstly, in verse 17, even some of the disciples who had known Jesus, who saw Him there, doubted. The logical part of me says ‘so is it any wonder that some people I speak to may doubt?’ And that’s OK – I am not responsible for their response – only for my telling them. It’s THEIR choice.

Secondly, in verse 20, Jesus says He is with me always. Always. Not just in the easy bits, when I’m following through with God’s commands – ALWAYS. When I’m rebelling, pretending I’ve not heard that prompting to say something to someone, doing the metaphorical thing of sticking my fingers in my ears and going ‘lalalalala I can’t hear you’! ALWAYS. And that really amazes me, because do I deserve it? No – but grace covers everything.

I’ve been listening this week to Bethel Music’s new album ‘You Make Me Brave’, and in the title track, part of the lyrics are:

You make me brave
You make me brave
You call me out beyond the shore into the waves

You make me brave
You make me brave
No fear can hinder now the Love that made a way

No fear. Not the fear of what people may say, may do, may think, may respond. My seemingly big fears will not stand in the way of Jesus’ love being shown and spoken out to people.

God bless

Rachel x

One thought on “She Shares Truth: commissioned moments…

  1. Rachel, this was so great. I’ve been listening to the same song this week as well. So often, I catch myself praying a little prayer when I hear that prompting, and ask God to send someone else. I forget that he made me for those commissioned moments. Thanks for reminding me that their response is not up to me. I’m only called to be obedient and let Him use me.

Leave a Reply

