Searching…

Well, this week saw the start of a new term for my eldest daughter (final term in reception-how?!) and for me teaching piano. I started a new gym programme (ouch. Extremely ouch), and the macbook is currently being upgraded to a new hard drive to make it go faster (I hope). With Easter just gone, and summer sort of arriving, the feel of a new start is almost tangible.

Yet unless I come back every single day to the cross, and to ask for His new mercies for the day, it can all too easily slip back to the relentless treadmill of the daily grind. What keeps life fresh and vibrant is the very breath of the Creator over it, infusing it with a vitality and purpose that can only be given-by-God.

Lamentations 3:22-24
22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.’

The challenging bit is in verse 24: waiting. I’m not good at waiting – if something needs to happen, I’m a get on with it now sort of person. Indecisiveness and procrastination just don’t compute! So to be told to ‘wait’ is hugely challenging. But it occurs to me that it’s not about passively waiting with God – we’re also told to seek Him, to pursue Him, to have a singleminded approach in going after Him.

Proverbs 21:21’Whoever pursues righteousness and love, finds life, prosperity and honour’

And why? Because He first pursued us.

God bless

Rachel x

Leave a comment